Desert Oasis
OK, I'm throwing my hat into this ring!

I'm still building desert terrain, that's not new (although I'm playing a new game with it - I foolishly allowed myself to get sucked into TFL's Chain of Command and now I'm doing WW2 North Africa, gods help me).

What is new are a couple of the techniques and materials. For the oasis itself, I will be using water effects, something I've never done before but always wanted to do. Additionally, I'll be working with paint that includes crackle medium, as I want part of the pond to have a properly desert-y dried mud look.

For the palm trees (because what oasis is complete without palm trees?), I'll be using a new natural material in the form of pinecones (there's a tree in my neighborhood that has these delightful tiny pinecones that I think will make perfect date palm trunks) and a new technique in the form of hot glue. What's that you say? "You've been making terrain for 20 years and haven't used hot glue yet?!?" Indeed, my TG cred is in jeopardy, so it's a good thing this competition came along when it did.  Confused

I've already cut out the base for the oasis itself (from 1/16" sheet styrene) and built up its banks using ink insulation foam. This was then covered in acrylic texture paste (something else I've just recently begun using) to smooth it out, fill any holes or gaps, and create the "shallow" part of the oasis that will be the dried mud surface.

[Image: 2016-07-25%2B21.17.59.jpg]

Tonight, if all goes well, it'll get sanded and primed. If I'm feeling super ambitious, it'll get base-coated.
Excellent! Glad to have you with us.

This sounds like a great project. I look forward to seeing it come together. Smile
Good luck with the water effects. I've always been put off by the price (it's all super expensive here). That and I'm also super lazy and try to get by with varnish or thin layers of PVA over a painted surface.

Super interested to see these pinecones too!